Home     Birch Street Patterns     Other Patterns     Folkwear     Pets     Notions     Tracing Paper     About Us     New!     Links      

Bandana Patterns

Combos

Dresses

Ethnic

Infants/Kids/Teens Clothes & Playtime

Jackets, Coats & Vests

Pants/Shorts

Pets:Clothes & Accessories

Skirts/Blouses & Tops

Spiral Patterns

Travel/Home

The Americas Collection

The Asian/Oriental Collection

The Caravan/Ethnic Collection

The Children's Collection

The Old Europe Collection

The Prairie/Frontier Collection

The Retro/Glamour Collection

The Vintage/Romantic Collection

Clips & Zippers

Elastics

Organizers

Snaps

Sewing Workshop

Laughing Moon

click here for Folkowear Dealer Inquiries Invited
Shopping Cart

Notre Histoire

 

Birch Street Clothing est né d'un incendie en Californie en 1990. Deux jours après l'incendie nocturne qui réduisit sa maison de San Mateo en cendres, Jasmine Borschberg acheta une machine à coudre et se mit à remplacer ses vêtements et ceux de sa fille qui avait alors 10 ans. Pressée pendant que sa maison était en reconstruction, elle découvrit un moyen de transformer un sweatshirt d'adulte en une combinaison d'enfant en 20 minutes! Sa création suivante fut un costume "peau de banane" pour lequel elle dépensa 900 dollars dans une annonce placée 3 fois dans un magazine de couture. Le premier jour quand elle regarda dans sa boite postale, elle trouva un morceau de papier avec un seul mot: "débordement".

En fait, elle avait 300 commandes, et Birch Street Clothing avait démarré!

En 2002, Lars Malmberg, auparavant un partenaire à Unicorn Books (un distributeur international de livres sur l'artisanat textile), acheta Birch Street Clothing. On peut d'habitude trouver Lars dans le kiosque de Birch Street à un congrès sur la couture, arborant une création de Birch Street comme la populaire écharpe de voyage unisexe, ou même une robe de dame faite à sa taille!

Jasmine continue de travailler pour Beech Street en tant que costumière douée, créant pour la compagnie des modèles innovateurs et passionnants , souvent avec une touche internationale. 

Birch Street Clothing est maintenant fermement établi en tant que compagnie de couture prospère avec des clients loyaux autour du monde. Nous nous efforçons d'offrir des styles innovateurs qui sont confortables et flatteurs pour toutes sortes de formes et de tailles corporelles. Nous apprécions vos remarques concernant nos modèles actuels et les nouveaux styles que vous aimeriez voir. Donnez-nous de vos nouvelles!

 

Lars Malberg

Home     Birch Street Patterns     Other Patterns     Folkwear     Pets     Notions     Tracing Paper     About Us     New!     Links      

Bandana Patterns

Combos

Dresses

Ethnic

Infants/Kids/Teens Clothes & Playtime

Jackets, Coats & Vests

Pants/Shorts

Pets:Clothes & Accessories

Skirts/Blouses & Tops

Spiral Patterns

Travel/Home

The Americas Collection

The Asian/Oriental Collection

The Caravan/Ethnic Collection

The Children's Collection

The Old Europe Collection

The Prairie/Frontier Collection

The Retro/Glamour Collection

The Vintage/Romantic Collection

Clips & Zippers

Elastics

Organizers

Snaps

Sewing Workshop

Laughing Moon

click here for Folkowear Dealer Inquiries Invited
Shopping Cart

About Us 

 

Our Story
Birch Street Clothing was born of a California fire in 1990. Two days after her San Mateo home burned to the ground in a late-night fire, Jasmine Borschberg bought a sewing machine and set about replacing clothes for herself and her then year-old daughter. Pressed for time as her house was being rebuilt, she discovered a way to turn an adult sweatshirt into a child's jumpsuit in 20 minutes! Her next design was for the "banana-peel suit," which she spent $900 to advertise three times in a sewing magazine. The first day she checked her P.O. Box, she found a piece of paper with the single word "overflow."

She actually had 300 orders, and Birch Street Clothing was on its way!

In 2002, Lars Malmberg, previously a partner in Unicorn Books and Crafts (an international distributor of textile craft books), bought Birch Street Clothing. You can usually find Lars in the Birch Street booth at a sewing convention, sporting a Birch Street creation like the popular Unisex Travel Sling, or even a ladies' dress made to "fit" his size!

Jasmine continues as Birch Street's brilliant in-house designer, creating innovative and exciting patterns for the company, often with an international flair.

Birch Street Clothing is now firmly established as a successful sewing pattern company with loyal customers around the world. We strive for innovative styles that are comfortable and flattering for a variety of body shapes and sizes. We value your feedback about our current patterns and new styles you'd like to see. Let us hear from you!

 

 

Lars Malberg